My Favorite Things. Starting Now.

This week, I’ll reluctantly surrender the part-time social media, writing, public relations, everything-communications gig I’ve been fortunate enough to do from home. It’s been nearly two years since I’ve found myself in a “what to do today?” conundrum. But here I am, resilient and ready.

My best strategy for avoiding daily online shopping? Recently, a friend (you’re awesome, Amy!) posted this as her Facebook status: “In challenging times, creative people get creative…” It was exactly the message I needed to see at just the right time.

Guess it’s time to get creative. Starting now, here are a few of my favorite things to keep me busy and creative:

Learning to make biscotti. Peppermint, to be exact. I recently bought a box of these at the Metropolitan Home Cooking Show in D.C. (I should have bought at least a dozen!) Bellas Home Baked Goods makes an amazing rendition. However, I’m frugal. And spending $7.50/box plus shipping isn’t going to cut it. After all, I need to support my kids’ new-found hot chocolate and peppermint biscotti habit – without a paycheck.

Making homemade marshmallows. You know the kind – fluffy, big, monopolize-the-hot-chocolate-cup variety. Sure, it would be easier to drop by Williams-Sonoma, but then I would fall in love with a shiny new baking sheet. And a sharp knife. Ooh, look – Star Wars-shaped pancake makers… See? Homemade it is!

Sewing Christmas gifts. I can’t elaborate much on this one without giving away my gifting secrets. Theoretically, there’s plenty of time to whip up some handmade _________ (fill in the blank).

Painting the house. I’m on track to paint every. single. wall. I lured my husband to the computer one night (sexy, yes?) to view my newest paint-color obsession. He quickly retreated, hands to the sides of his head, yelling as he escaped to the hallway, “Painting is not a hobby!” Well, not if you loathe it, it isn’t. I, however, appreciate a change of scenery. Sherwin Williams’ Truepenny awaits the adjoining kitchen and dining room walls.

That should do for awhile, don’t you think? What are some of your favorite things?

Leave a Reply

